MLK Commemoration

2022 MLK Celebration, Wednesday Jan 26

MLK Celebration: I come as one, but stand as 10,000

Location: live stream link will be shared here

*Free and open to the public

Time: 6:00 to 7:30 p.m.

UNC Greensboro, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, Guilford College, and Guilford Technical Community College are teaming up to present the 10th annual Joint Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration.

This year’s theme is “I come as one, but stand as 10,000.” The event will feature a panel of student leaders from all four institutions. 

Allyson Beatty from UNCG, Alyssa McCall from N.C. A&T, Lacey-Ann Reynolds from Guilford College, and Bryce Scott from GTCC will reflect on how the legacy of civil rights leaders have informed their own leadership and advocacy on their campuses and in their communities and how their respective institutions and campus leaders can help facilitate and support their work. LaTonya Wiley, senior interpreter at the International Civil Rights Center and Museum, will serve as moderator for the panel. 

In addition to the panel discussion, the program will include recorded performances by students and staff from each campus: The Neo Black Society Gospel Choir from UNCG, National Pan-Hellenic Council members from N.C. A&T, Whitney Smith from Guilford College, and Tiffany Overby from GTCC. 

The annual event is typically held in person, on campus each year. However, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the event will be held online, and changes have been made to the program to better accommodate a virtual environment. 

For more accommodation requests or further information, please contact the UNCG Office of Intercultural Engagement at 336-334-5090.

Official Co-Sponsors

The University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Office of Intercultural Engagement
Housing and Residence Life
Division of Student Affairs

North Carolina A&T State University

The MLK Commemorative Observance Committee
The Division of Student Affairs
Multicultural Student Center
Collegiate Chapter of NAACP at NC A&T
Men on the Move
Memorial Student Union
Student Activities Office
Student Development

Guilford College

Intercultural Engagement Center

Guilford Technical Community College

Office of Student Life and Student Activities

Listing of past Keynote Speakers and MLK Service Award Winners

2020 Natalie Warne
2019 Ilyasah Shabazz
2018 Payton Head Payton McGarry
2017 DeRay Mckesson Sherrill Roland
2016 Julianne Malveaux Kaziah Miller
2015 Sonia Sanchez Kaziah Miller
2014 Jeff Johnson Kelton Hollister (Student)
2013 Dick Gregory Aisha Crawford (Student)
2012 Elaine Brown Parker Hurley (Student)
2011 Dr. Terrence Roberts Kent L. Singletary (Student)
2010 Dr. Mae Jemison Zimuzor Ugochukwu (Student)
2009 Rev. Al Sharpton Wanda Torain (Undergraduate Admissions)
2008 Bernice A. King Brandon Nnodi (Student)
2007 Dr. Joseph Lowery, civil rights activist Dr. Spoma Jovanovic (Communication Studies)
2006 Angela Davis, Black Panther, UC Berkeley, etc. Rhonda Robinson (Student)
2005 Julian Bond, NAACP Chairman, former Georgia senator Kathleen Casey (Educational Leadership & Cultural Foundations)
2004 Franklin McCain, one of Greensboro Four Dauvell Evans (Student)
2003 Rev. Samuel “Billy” Kyles, Pastor, Monumental Baptist Church, Memphis; was with MLK Jr. during last hour Patricia J. Bowden (Religious Studies)
2002 Dr. Jocelyn Elders, first African American woman to be US Surgeon General Joette Nicole McLaurin (Student)
2001 Herman Boone, former football coach; inspiration for “Remember the Titans” Erma Totten (Service Worker, Cone Residence Hall)
2000 David Dinkins, former mayor of NYC Robert Earl Randolph, Jr. (Student)
1999 Manning Marable, historian and author; Professor, Columbia Patricia L. Bailey (Director, Disability Services)
1998 Myrlie Evers-Williams, Chair, NAACP; widow of Medgar Evers Jeffrey Thigpen (Student)
1997 Shirley Chisholm, former US Representative Lenora A. Richardson
1996 Dr. Michael K. Honey Deardre R. Johnson (Student)
1995 Dr. Michael Eric Dyson, Professor of Communications Studies at UNC-CH Darrell Wheeler
1994 Dr. George Subira Patrice N. Vinson (Student)
1993 Ms. Naomi Tutu Carolyn Moore
1992 Dr. James Cone Daniel T. “J J” McEachern (Student)
1991 Rev. Tyrone Crider Odessa Patrick (Biology)
1990 Mary Berry William R. McNeely, Jr. (Student)
1989 Rev. Ralph Abernathy, associate of MLK Jr. and leader of SCLC Ernestine Small (Nursing)
1988 John Lewis, Congressman, Georgia Bradley Mitchell (Student)
1987 Dick Gregory, comedian and political activist Joseph Himes (Sociology)