MLK Commemoration

2020 MLK Celebration, Wednesday Jan 22


MLK Celebration: An Evening with Natalie Warne

Location: N.C. A&T Harrison Auditorium, 1009 Bluford St., Greensboro, NC, 27411.

*Free shuttles from UNCG to A&T will begin at 6:30pm outside of the EUC Walker Parking Deck and will end at 9:30pm.

Time: 7:00 to 9:00 p.m. Doors open at 6:15pm.

NC A&T and UNCG are proud co-presenters of the MLK Celebration. Following our custom of alternating venues, this year’s program will be held at North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University’s Harrison Auditorium on the campus of A&T.

Natalie is a activist, advocacy educator, youth engagement expert, producer and TED Talk speaker. This year’s keynote address theme for the program will be Reflect to Envision: 2020.

Natalie has mobilized youth through innovative nationwide programs and campaigns and her work has been featured on CNN, NPR and The Oprah Winfrey Show. She was also asked to produce documentary pieces on women who had survived the Rwandan Genocide during which she lived in Rwanda. Upon returning back to the United States from Rwanda, Natalie began working for TaskForce, an independent agency that served as the creative force alongside Shepard Fairey to create the 2008 Obama HOPE Campaign.

To this day, Natalie has spoken to more than 75,000 people worldwide in 500 different engagements and delivered three TEDx talks about her journey from teenager to global activist. She has worked for prestigious universities, Fortune 500 businesses, non-profits, government organizations, and hundreds of educational institutions ranging from grammar school to high school.

For more accommodation requests or further information, please contact the UNCG Office of Intercultural Engagement at 336-334-5090.

Official Co-Sponsors

The University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Office of Intercultural Engagement
Housing and Residence Life
Division of Student Affairs

North Carolina A&T State University

The MLK Commemorative Observance Committee
The Division of Student Affairs
Multicultural Student Center
Collegiate Chapter of NAACP at NC A&T
Men on the Move
Memorial Student Union
Student Activities Office
Student Development


Listing of past Keynote Speakers and MLK Service Award Winners

2018 Payton Head Payton McGarry
2017 DeRay Mckesson Sherrill Roland
2016 Julianne Malveaux Kaziah Miller
2015 Sonia Sanchez Kaziah Miller
2014 Jeff Johnson Kelton Hollister (Student)
2013 Dick Gregory Aisha Crawford (Student)
2012 Elaine Brown Parker Hurley (Student)
2011 Dr. Terrence Roberts Kent L. Singletary (Student)
2010 Dr. Mae Jemison Zimuzor Ugochukwu (Student)
2009 Rev. Al Sharpton Wanda Torain (Undergraduate Admissions)
2008 Bernice A. King Brandon Nnodi (Student)
2007 Dr. Joseph Lowery, civil rights activist Dr. Spoma Jovanovic (Communication Studies)
2006 Angela Davis, Black Panther, UC Berkeley, etc. Rhonda Robinson (Student)
2005 Julian Bond, NAACP Chairman, former Georgia senator Kathleen Casey (Educational Leadership & Cultural Foundations)
2004 Franklin McCain, one of Greensboro Four Dauvell Evans (Student)
2003 Rev. Samuel “Billy” Kyles, Pastor, Monumental Baptist Church, Memphis; was with MLK Jr. during last hour Patricia J. Bowden (Religious Studies)
2002 Dr. Jocelyn Elders, first African American woman to be US Surgeon General Joette Nicole McLaurin (Student)
2001 Herman Boone, former football coach; inspiration for “Remember the Titans” Erma Totten (Service Worker, Cone Residence Hall)
2000 David Dinkins, former mayor of NYC Robert Earl Randolph, Jr. (Student)
1999 Manning Marable, historian and author; Professor, Columbia Patricia L. Bailey (Director, Disability Services)
1998 Myrlie Evers-Williams, Chair, NAACP; widow of Medgar Evers Jeffrey Thigpen (Student)
1997 Shirley Chisholm, former US Representative Lenora A. Richardson
1996 Dr. Michael K. Honey Deardre R. Johnson (Student)
1995 Dr. Michael Eric Dyson, Professor of Communications Studies at UNC-CH Darrell Wheeler
1994 Dr. George Subira Patrice N. Vinson (Student)
1993 Ms. Naomi Tutu Carolyn Moore
1992 Dr. James Cone Daniel T. “J J” McEachern (Student)
1991 Rev. Tyrone Crider Odessa Patrick (Biology)
1990 Mary Berry William R. McNeely, Jr. (Student)
1989 Rev. Ralph Abernathy, associate of MLK Jr. and leader of SCLC Ernestine Small (Nursing)
1988 John Lewis, Congressman, Georgia Bradley Mitchell (Student)
1987 Dick Gregory, comedian and political activist Joseph Himes (Sociology)