Safe Zone Training

Safe Zone

SafeZone creates a network of allies who promote a campus environment that is open and welcoming to all LGBTQ students.

UNC Greensboro’s Safe Zone Training consists of three individual 3-hour workshops, titled: Safe Zone 1.0, Safe Zone 2.0, and Trans Zone. Each workshop builds upon knowledge gained from the previous workshops.

Individuals who have completed the program have the option to attend an additional 1-hour Train the Trainer workshop with an Office of Intercultural Engagement staff member in order to serve as a facilitator in partnership with our office.

Engaging with LGBTQ+ student groups and related programming helps reinforce the initial training, launch new ideas, discuss areas of concern, and work toward a more inclusive campus and community.

Register for a Safe Zone Workshop!

For more information or for disability accommodations, please contact Elliott Kimball (erkimba2@uncg.edu).

Fall 2018 Training Dates (Faculty/staff)

  • Safe Zone 1.0: Monday, August 27, 2:00-5:00pm, EUC Sharpe
  • Safe Zone 2.0: Thursday, September 13, 9:30am- 12:30pm, EUC Dogwood
  • Trans Zone: Tuesday, September 25, 10:00am -1:00pm, EUC Dogwood
  • Safe Zone 1.0: Monday, October 15, 9:30am- 12:30pm, EUC Dogwood
  • Safe Zone 2.0: Friday, November 2, 10:00am- 1:00pm, EUC Dogwood
  • Trans Zone: Tuesday, November 13, 2:00- 5:00pm, EUC Sharpe

Spring 2019 Training Dates (Faculty/staff)

  • Safe Zone 1.0: Friday, January 18, 9:30am-12:30pm, EUC Dogwood
  • Safe Zone 2.0: Thursday, February 7, 10am-1pm, EUC Dogwood
  • Trans Zone: Wednesday, February 20, 2:00pm-5:00pm, EUC Sharpe
  • Safe Zone 1.0: Tuesday, March 12, 1:00-4:00pm, EUC Sharpe
  • Safe Zone 2.0: Tuesday, April 2, 9:30am-12:30pm, EUC Dogwood
  • Trans Zone: Wednesday, April 17, 10am-1pm, EUC Dogwood

 

LGBTQ+ Workshop Requests

The Office of Intercultural Engagement is happy to facilitate an individualized workshop around topics of gender, sexuality, and inclusion for your group upon request. This could serve as a follow-up to Safe Zone training, or be unrelated to the Safe Zone program! To best accommodate your needs and goals for the workshop, please provide two weeks in advance of your desired workshop date. This request form can be filled out here.